History Euro

History of the birth to the creation of the European Nations Cup - Euro

Henri Delaunay
Henri Delaunay

Henri Delaunay was born June 15, 1883 founded on 1919 (with Jules Rimet), the FFF (French Football Federation) and became the first Secretary General. He was involved in the creation of the European championship football proposing this idea in 1927.

Then, this project, such as the Football World Cup, the first edition was held in 1930 (also instigated by Henri Delaunay), remained in the minds and in boxes of FIFA. March 02, 1955, at the first General Meeting of the UEFA (created last year), it rejects the project, Henri Delaunay died November 9, 1955 and three years later in June 1958 in Stockholm, the UEFA created the European Cup of Nations, which is also the name of Henri Delaunay Cup. The first edition will be held in 1960 in France.

This first edition is marked by the fact that no British nation did not take part in qualifying. In addition, for a quarter-final, the Spain, through Franco refused to let the USSR on their territory the USSR won the match by forfeit.

8 years later, Italy qualified for the final after draw against the USSR (0-0).

During the 1976 edition, during the penalty shootout in the final against Frg, Antonin Panenka (Czechoslovakia) creates the "Panenka", which is to make the center of the penalty goal by tapping gently and dive.

In 1980 in Italy, the UEFA European Nations takes a larger and allows 8 teams in the finals instead of 4.

In 1992, for political reasons, Yugoslavia qualified for the final phase in Sweden is replaced by Denmark ... some players were already away on holidays, which does not prevent the Danes won the UEFA European Nations against Germany.

In 1996 in England, the UEFA European Nations now allows 16 teams (divided into 4 groups of 4) to participate in the final round, from the quarter-finals, the golden goal which is the principle as follows: the first which marks during the Extra time wins the match; the German Oliver Bierhoff was the first gold marker to the 95th during the final between Germany and Czech Republic (2-1) on Sunday 30 June 1996 in London (England).

In 2016 in France, the number of participants increases and again from 16 to 24 with the four best third that integrate and this is new, the 1/8th final.

The 1st trophy :The Cup Henri Delaunay signed by Arthus BetrandThe orginal trophy was designed by Pierre Delaunay (son of Henri Delaunay) and produced by the jeweler Chobillon before being purchased by the jeweler Arthus Bertrand in Paris. Theodoros Zagorakis is the last captain to have lifted the trophy during the victory of Greece in Lisbon in 2004.

The Spanish Iker Casillas had the honor of becoming the first captain to lift the new version of the Henri Delaunay Trophy The Cup Henri Delaunay Signed Aspreyin June 2008 to have won the European Championship of Nations. The new version of the trophy is the work of Asprey, jeweler in London and is made in sterling silver, measures 18 cm and weighs over 2 kg heavier than the original.

The Football European Nations Cup is the third world sporting event more mediatized after the Olympic Games and the World cup of Football.

Presidents of FIFA

Robert Guerin Daniel Burley Woolfall Jules Rimet Rodolphe William Seeldrayers Arthur Drewry Stanley Rous Joao Havelange Joseph Sepp Blatter Gianni Infantino

Presidents of UEFA

Ebbe Schwartz Gustav Wiederkehr Sandor Barcs Artemio Franchi Jacques Georges Lennart Johansson Michel Platini Aleksander Ceferin

Presidents of CONMEBOL

Hector Rivadia Gomez Luis O Salesi Luis Valenzuela Hermosilla Carlos Dittborn Pinto José Ramos de Freitas Fermin Sorhueta Raul H Colombo Teofilo Salinas Fuller Nicolas Leoz

Google search



Top of page

In accordance with the International Conventions relating to the intellectual property, this work is protected

http://football-en.footforever.com - Football - All the World Cups, European Nations Cups and Copa America Web site map

Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS